Reliability of Electronics in Outback

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 20:12
ThreadID: 17449 Views:4270 Replies:28 FollowUps:33
I would be very interested to hear from Forum members who travel routinely and extensively in the outback (not just the odd holiday) re the following.

Where I live, up in the Kimberley, there seems to be a growing and deep distrust of electronic anything in a vehicle. Most people who live and work up here have either a diesel Troopy or ditto dual-cab HiLux (or, in our case both) - and most of these are 78 series Troopys (not turbo-diesels) or 2.8 litre HiLux to avoid even the minor electronics in the 3.0 litre. (There is less need for power however as we have very few hills).

This belief is reinforced by local service mechanics (and also by the recovery man in Birdsville) who say that most 4WD vehicle recoveries are now due to failures with electronic bits that cannot be fixed outside specialised service depts.

The local feeling seems to be that whilst electronic bits probably fail less often than their mechanical counterparts, if/when they do that vehicle is grounded. I've been able to fix a few but those were mostly faulty connectors - and I've got an electronics background that helps. But there's nothing I could dp beyond that. Carrying spares is not feasible as much of the electrickery must be computer re-programmed - and that needs seriously specialised gear and expertise.

The ongoing and increasing concern up here is that this trend seems to be increasing - leaving little buyable that one will be able to trust - beyond basic trucks.

I'm certainly concerned myself - as I'm looking at selling my OKA and existing (2000) 78-series Troopy - and would dearly love to buy a 79-series turbo-diesel.

But would I then take it across to the East Coast year via the Tanami (via Alice) as I've done with the OKA eight times in the last six years - knowing that if anything goes wrong it's a fair chance it's fixable with fencing wire.

Are we all getting technically paranoid up here? Or should we really look after what we have a lot better - and/or buying new 78-series Troopies and storing them for a few years - it's seemingly already too late for Hiluxes?

I should add that I accept totally that the statistical probability of failure in holiday usage is far less - but when virtually all one's driving is off road in remote areas the statistics are less favourable.

Any comments please.
Collyn Rivers

Reply By: Davoe - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 20:28

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 20:28
We had a guy from ramp it towing doing some work for us in Kalgoorlie. he does remote recoverys along the nullabor etc and when I asked him what the most towed vehicle was he didnt hesitate - Land rover the electrics go phut and thats it - tow job
AnswerID: 82421

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:35

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:35
Collyn,

We run 3 landcruisers, 2 x 79 series(1 turbo), and a 105 series wagon modified into a dual cab. Situated on Diamantina River, so road, and terrain conditions can vary from good to less than ordinary.

Have been driving the turbo myself, for over 20 months, done 75K clicks, with no problems other than a rooted front diff last year. As I hope to purchase this vehicle when the lease runs out, I do look after it, and service it every 5K. I often wonder about the electronics, and their longevity, but so far in this area, and within our Company, don't know of any failures(w/- electronics)

I imagine the only other alternative would be a 1HZ, with aftermarket turbo. Think the overheating problems with these conversions has largely been remedied.

Can't heap enough laurels on the 79 turbo, economical, tractable, and more than enough grunt, when you feed it the fat. Excellent for passing triples!!!!!

Had a 5L-E hilux d/cab here last year, and I know where you are coming from, with that vehicle!

Don't think you are being paranoid, just realistic.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 82431

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:44

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:44
Excellent Post!!

I too have given this some thought, although for differing reasons.

What would be really smart, is if the manufacturers, or maybe an after-market manufacturer could supply a box of tricks fitted to the vehicle, so if necessary, we could switch the management system over to dumb mode. Something akin to like an iron lung for your car.
Now, I'm not a mechanic, or an electrician, but I would hazard a guess that there are heaps of things that have to be bypassed just to get the engine to fire on dumb mode, which means this thing has to be fitted professionally. All we need is engine, gearbox, brakes & lights, just to get us home.
I am sure that if someone was reading this, and was smart enough to invent something that would retro fit most popular vehicles, they would do VERY WELL.
You could even jazz it all up, like in the movies, whereby the 2 Generals in the ICBM bunker, have to take the key on the chain around their neck, insert them into the machine at the same time, say something really profound, then turn the keys in unison.
You & your wife could get a key each, hot day, computers shlt it'self, and you BOTH have to place the keys in the Dumb Engine Mismanagement System. Say "No Air Conditioning Honey...." To which she will reply..."Okay, I won't whinge.." Then you turn the keys, and turn back time..........
Hell, now I've written this, you'll see the bloody thing in a Jaycar catalogue!
I just can't help myself............. too far ahead of my time............

Back to the Future Wolf
AnswerID: 82436

Follow Up By: duncs - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:00

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:00
It'l never work Wolfie.

How will you ever get the wife to agree not to winge?????????
FollowupID: 341523

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:00

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:00
Most engine managment systems have this already built into them and if something is not right or fails they go into a failsafe mode.
FollowupID: 341593

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:45

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:45
Hi Collyn
It's an interesting question you pose and I don't profess to have the answers. What I can suggest is that there are millions and millions of miles being driven in vehicles that are saturated with electronic this and that and they are not all failing. I suppose the issue in regard to remote travel is the probability of a failure and the consequent management of that risk, not to forget cost either!!. I would not be surprised that many of the electronic problems are a product of introduced accessories eg mobile phones installations, non factory cruise control, alarm systems/immobilisers not to mention a plug for this and a plug for that coupled to solenoids etc etc and therein lies a recepie for tears. For what it's worth my late model Hilux never failed to fire despite some aquatic work and desert trips and I haven't seen or heard of any electronic related problems over the last couple of years associated with this vehicle. I was amused that a country mate of mine in Vic bought a new TD nissan ute solely because of the old technology....his farming days tell him if he cannot fix it he don't want it! For me its a new TD troopie in 05 and I'll manage the risk or is it mythology? Time will tell no doubt whether I have made an error of judgement??
AnswerID: 82437

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:50

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:50
Luxoluk

Your response highlights exactly the question I raise. Are the stories for real - or is it mythology?

The repair shops and recovery people in Broome and elsewhere seem to indicate it's not mythology, but it's unclear whether the cause of the woes is built-in - is triggered by add-ons, poor service or just what.

As an ex-industry research engineer I have huge respect for Toyota engineering. It seems improbable that the company would market vehicles (particularly the HiLux) with a component that has the potential for failure - but the fact sure as hell is that mythology or otherwise, it is affecting buying decisions up here. I know at least six other people up here asking similar questions.

But it's encouraging to here there are good reports of the 79-series from country users.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 341633

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:54

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:54
Collyn, agree with you totally in that I too distrust electronics (must be something to do with getting old ;-)).
Partly the reason why I have gone to the Humvee, basic mechanicals and electrics and if I can't fix it then no one else can. Plus I am nowhere near being overloaded and the ride is far superior in rough country.
Apart from the increasing use of electronics I'm disollusioned by the increasing dilution of the 'toughness' of proper 4WD's and the associated increase in mechanical failures that shouldn't happen in vehicles supposedly 'designed' to be used in rough and remote areas.
I too have an electronics/electrical background and while I have got a few vehicles going and sorted out probs for fellow travellers over the years there have also been times when vehicle recovery is the only solution. As has been stated Landies seem to be more prevalent in this regard. But as you say if the 'black box'bleeps itself well then short of replacement nothing will get an electronically injected vehicle going again. Most probs I've found over the years are usually related to sensor connections/failures rather than the 'brain' itself.
I've also got retired friends that have 79 series TDI troopies and traybacks that love them and while they are using them for travelling/holidays it is virtually continuous as they are retired. One couple have put over 70k on a troopy in 18 months following Lennies roads and the CSR, rudall rvr and the Kimberleys with no probs.
On the other side of the coin most comment (from people who have had cruisers for nearly 30 years) that they will not keep it for more than 5 years due to the lack of toughness.
Why would you want to get rid of the Oka? surely it would be rebuildable.
I looked for quite a while for one and most that I found here on the east coast were of questionable ancestry/use.
You are not alone with your comment on keeping older vehicles, I know of a few bods that run tagalongs and the like who buy the last of the 80 series in preference to 100's after ongoing probs with the latter. Some of these modern 4wd's will be a nightmare when they are 10 or 15 years old and someone sinks them in a creek etc.
AnswerID: 82440

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:01

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:01

The OKA is a sort of crude version of the Humvee!

By no means committed to selling it, but it really is very much more vehicle than I now need - it really does just this one big trip each year (East Coast and back across the centre), plus the odd jaunt up the Gibb River Road) but it otherwise does not have much use - and this is really not good for engines etc over time. It's only done about 150,000 km.

Certainly agree re the last of the 80-series. The 78-series Troopy is a wonderfully rugged honest device, spoiled only by 5th gear being too close to 4th. One's constantly looking for a further gear. If I keep it I shall fit the Marks' Adaptor that increases fifth by 8% and decreases all low-range gears by about 40%.

Thanks for responding
Collyn Rivers

FollowupID: 341663

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:22

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:22
Landrover FOR SALE

OK......

This post does it.

It's decided....the Disco goes!!

Can't have it dying in the middle of nowhere on the big trip can we?

If I hear one more reliability comment about LR's from a forum or mag I don't know what I'll do. It's unrelenting! I can't hear it anymore!

Damm you Landrover!!! Damm you Monday morning workers at Solihul!!!
You have let us all down.....

I give up, buying the troopy.
Can't beat'em join' em.
Changing camps. Crossing the line. Defecting.

What I can't understand is why are they more susceptible to electrics failure than a modern Nissan or Toyota?

WANTED: 78 Troopy. low ks

You think I'm joking don't you?
AnswerID: 82448

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:29

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:29
John, I think it all stems back from the days of BOSCH, you remember him? He was the Prince Of Darkness!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 341526

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:35

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 22:35
Prince of bloody expensive screw ups!
FollowupID: 341528

Follow Up By: Flash - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:48

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:48
Wasn't it Mr. Lucas who was the "Prince of Darkness".

English vehicles have always been absolutely notorious on electrics. Ask anyone who has owned a Jaguar.
Sad, but true.
FollowupID: 341537

Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:19

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:19
Bosch is actually pretty good.

I think you mean Lucas is the Prince of Darkness.
FollowupID: 341541

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:57

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:57
Don't worry Johnno

At least you're not likely to blow a diff, IFS or engine.

............... ;-P
FollowupID: 341592

Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:22

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:22
No fellas. Lucas was/is the Prince of Darkness or his apprentice, as the main one is elsewhere in the world doing big time stuff-ups.
When electronocs came into vogue a few years ago I am sure I read that some vehicles have a "limp home mode" in case the jigger goes on holidays.
If so, what happened to it? Did someone try to save some $$$$$.
Sure the benefits are significant with good eleccys, but the price of the little black boxes which control so much from the timing, fuel delivery,& auto boxes seems to
be around the same as an old tech motor rebuild.
The Triton utes & da 2.5 td seem to have good kw outputs & economy without resorting to lots of fragile bolt ons!
AnswerID: 82454

Follow Up By: Moz - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:55

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:55
Ian,
All current vehicles have some form of 'limp-home' mode.
There are lots of faults in the engine management the will not
stop the vehicle as the ECU generally have default settings.
I am not familar with Landies particular problem but they could have a
design problem with components just breaking.
I remember VN/VP Commodores had a problem with circuit boards
in the ECU cracking in half, those sort of problems are rare now.
Although there are power and economy benefits from electronic
engine management, the reason we have it is so our engines
comply with government regulations on emmissions.
Reminds me
Why do the English drink warm beer?
Because they have Lucas refridgerators LOL

Cheers Moz
FollowupID: 341532

Reply By: flashnick - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:35

Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:35
Read a very interesting - UN published book by a guy in one of the Qld clubs about his (mis)Adventures through the Simpson and back via the major roads in his Electonics laiden $130,000 ???? -

Unbeleivable series of events but basically the vehicle was brought down by a few grains of sand in the alternator (5 hours to get the alternator out) and a crook connection in the engine managment system. (Took a month to get the vehicle home and a week to locate the offending connector - the metal contact had moved back 2 mm when the connection was initiall pushed into place creating an intermittent fault that let to the replacment of half the electronics and fuel system)

Not to menton having to get the spare out from under all the luggage - using a jack that was not designed for the task and a 19" tyres for which there were at the time no spares in the country , or (and I have seen the damaged rim) no spare rims at the time in Australia.

Only a 1800 No. for assist (only had a satellite phone - they dont do 1800..) And so on - At one point he said - "What donkey designed this vehicle?".

So one begs to ask - Why shouldnt - or should - one take a $130,000 vehicle into the out back?

This thread has some very interesting implications - for many people - not least of all those the mechanics in the field who cannot fix them or have to spend 5X hours doing a job that should take 12 minutes.

Nick
AnswerID: 82459

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:13

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 00:13
Electronics get better every year - just look at PCs and digital cameras. I can see the point about things being fixable in the bush, but you will never eliminate the risk of breakdown, and all-mechanical vehicles do break down in the bush. And often can't be fixed there.
Electronics is here to stay, might even replace the driver to make the roads safer for all of us LOL. Just switch off the autopilot when it's time to go off-road!!
Oodnadatta
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 82463

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:21

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:21
It is just a transition period.
Our children will grow up to understand the operation of the modern electronic vehicle just as we did the points and coil system.
Most vehicles (ie Nissan 3.0 litre)have a limp home mode as does the auto if fitted.
I would think that most total stops on these vehicles would be most likely to be poor connections ,or wiring damage.
If you buy a good manual they show all electronic components and a check system for them.
The Nissan can be diagnosed by use of a jump wire and the flashing engine light sequence.
With this method the faulty part can be located,this will become common procedure with familarisation in the future.
I think rather than avoid the modern systems better to try and understand.
AnswerID: 82482

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:53

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:53
>It is just a transition period

No, it isn't.

>Our children will grow up to understand the operation of the modern
>electronic vehicle just as we did the points and coil system.

I don't think so. The Kettering points type ignition is inherently simple.
Anyone with even a very basic understanding of mechanics and electrics can analyse it by observation and use that acquired knowledge to fault find on it. I defy anyone to do the same with a microcontroller and tell me that the multiplexer for the sample and hold of channel 7 of the A2D converter has failed. To fault find to component level in the field needs a whole stack of technical knowledge, a notebook computer, an oscilloscope, a set of detailed circuit diagrams, appropriate tools and a selection of replacement components.

Having said the above; electronics these days are so reliable they don't go wrong very often most faults are connectors, sensors etc. AFAIK the "limp home" mode only works in certain case, O2 sensor failure or similar - if the micro etc has failed _nothing_ is going to work.

I think the increase in electronics in off road vehicles is a concern (and I design this sort of stuff) but I doubt it will stop. I suppose with mechanical systems there is always a chance of repairing them but even with all the sand of the Simpson around you I defy anyone to repair a failed die on a microcontroller.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 341546

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:46

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:46
Mike,
I agree with you, however you left one very important thing out...
TIME, TIME, TIME...

When mechanical failures happen, you know what the problem is, you may or may not be able to fix it.... but you know where the problem lies...

When electrics/electronics/connectors fail, you don't know what the problem is (not even an expert would know) because the root cause is usualy elsewhere and not where it shows, you need time to properly diagnose the problem together with the knowledge and all manuals, circuit diagrams and tooling to fix the connectors...

Like somebody else said, computers have been out there for a long time now, but are they there when you need them? Always crushing, freezing, not printing failing just when you need them most.

William
FollowupID: 341561

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:10

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 15:10
What a load of tripe. Sorry guys. But laptop computer my ass.
My 7 year old son already outsmarts his mother when it comes to electronics, computers etc.
Generations to come will understand basic things like watching a light blink on the dash and matching that up to the book in their hand. They will understand that if a sensor has failed that they can just cut the wire and route it direct.
Generations to come won't just look at the motor, see wires everywhere and through their hands in the air and give up without even looking at the problem objectivly.
FollowupID: 341594

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:59

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 21:59
>What a load of tripe.

Is it really? I have over thirty years experience with the design of electronic systems from nuclear weapons to high security intrusion systems, from nanosecond resolution polymer defect systems to engine management systems. Now I'll be the first to admit I don't know everything but for a long time many people in many countries have paid me a lot of money to design electronic thingies for them so I reckon it's probably fair enough to say I do have some sort of idea what I'm talking about.

What's your background and qualifications for telling me I talk a load of tripe?

>Sorry guys. But laptop computer my ass.

You may be correct. Perhaps not all modern vehicles have the facility to output data to a terminal - however I am not aware on any - sometimes when we design these types of system we also design a simple terminal to allow the repair guy to communicate with them - it's simpler and more robust than a laptop - but it is, effectively, the same thing.

Do you concur that an oscilloscope would be required or is that a "load of tripe" too?

>My 7 year old son already outsmarts his mother when it comes to >electronics, computers etc.

Perhaps some technology classes for your wife may be in order?

>Generations to come will understand basic things like watching a light >blink on the dash and matching that up to the book in their hand. >They will understand that if a sensor has failed that they can just cut >the wire and route it direct.

Really! Will they? Most people can't programme their video recorder. They demand simpler interfaces from electronics. Few people are prepared to read an instruction manual. 99.9% of people would never dare "cut a wire" and if the vehicle is fully fitted with a CAN or similar bus for everything you had better hope they do not.

>Generations to come won't just look at the motor, see wires
>everywhere and through their hands in the air and give up without
>even looking at the problem objectivly.

You're right. Instead they'll see a bus structured system or possibly a radio interconnect and they'll have even less of an idea than they do now.

FollowupID: 341681

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 12:25

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 12:25
IMO Personal attacks on me, my qualifications and my wife were not really warranted.

Show me a 12 year old today that can't figure out how to programme a video recorder and I'd be shocked.

With the majority of vehicles you do not need latops or specialised diagnostic tools to problem solve, they have systems built in.

If you would never dare cut a wire on your vehicle, you shouldn't be out in the middle of nowhere in it by yourself.

They learn about BUS systems and radio networks in lower high school now days...
FollowupID: 341766

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 13:41

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 13:41
>IMO Personal attacks on me, my qualifications and my wife
>were not really warranted.

And none were made on you, I asked what your experience and qualifications in the electronics area are as you have seen fit to tell me I was talking “a load of tripe”. What are they btw? You still haven’t said.

You said your wife knows less in this area than a seven year old, I would have thought everyone should have a basic knowledge of technology systems these days so once, again I’ll suggest classes for her.

>With the majority of vehicles you do not need latops or specialised
>diagnostic tools to problem solve, they have systems built in.

No they don’t. The only fault detection systems they have are for things like sensors and switches where the micro can tell if the data from that sensor is outside any reasonable operating condition for an extended period – and those self diagnostic systems are _far_ from perfect. If the micro develops a fault or one of the tracks on the PCB breaks there is no internal system to report that. Give me a break Jeff I worked on pacemakers some years ago and we couldn’t even get to that kind of level with them – although we did pretty bloody well. Sure you can checksum ROM etc but what are you going to do if the checksum fails? “System Fault – Contact Service”. How are you going to fix that without an oscilloscope or a board swap?

>If you would never dare cut a wire on your vehicle, you
>shouldn't be out in the middle of nowhere in it by yourself.

Which wire on a CAN bus will you cut? Which wire on the ABS, which probably has detection to check if the wiring has been damaged?

>They learn about BUS systems and radio networks in lower
>high school now days...

Do they really? Looks like I’ll be out of a job soon then, replaced by a 18 year old who’s done it all at school – hasn’t happened in thirty years and by the time that 18 year old knows his arse from his elbow electronics will have moved on so far there won’t be any wires to cut because everything will happen by energy transfer beam or something Star Trek like and people still won’t know how to programme their matter transfer units….

Bye Jeff, go well.

PS. Hang on to that paperclip :)

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 341782

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 13:52

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 13:52
My father has worked in electronics all his life, passing it onto my self and my brothers since before were even in school, I have worked in and around electronics and computer systems, programming, building repairing, modifying and designing circuts all my working life.
Why would you go to all that hassel if your ABS failed. If it were me I would just remove the fuse. No more ABS problems. Simple solutions generally work the best. If the ABS had a detection system to detect if a wire had been cut and it was faulty, it probally already would have disengaged itself in a fail safe mode, or blown a fuse and dropped out anyway. So you drive home with the ABS warning light on, who gives a rats, you get home.
FollowupID: 341783

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:11

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:11
I defy anyone to fix a conrod through the side of the block. As with all things saftey precautions have to be taken depending on the probability of failure. Modern electronics is very reliable and as has been said before most faults of this nature is in the connections, and operators,if they are concerned about electronic failure, need to have a basic understanding of the field components of their vehicle and the connections. It is no different to the points type vehicles of old - if you didn't know it had points you are not going to fix it. A micro computer has less likelyhood of failure as putting a conrod through the side of the block - but both have happened and will continue to happen.

Graham
AnswerID: 82497

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:32

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:32
Up at the cape last year the RACQ guy told me that the main cause of cars being shipped out due to failure is electronics. Basically the vibrations kill them and they can't fix them so either send them south by sea or road. When I was there they had 4 vehicles to send south.
AnswerID: 82516

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 06:46

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 06:46
Just out of interest, can you recall the makes of the vehicles?
FollowupID: 341728

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:39

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 09:39
Hi Bob,

One was an army landrover and the others were new landcruisers. Took notice as they were all on a car carrier.
FollowupID: 341742

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:42

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:42
It seems that I am not alone in my concern! I accept that emission problems are solved more readily via electronics so it is probably inevitable that we will all eventually be forced into this technology.

Concerning reliability I wonder how many people realise just how reliable were trucks of 50/60 years ago? Between 1959 and 1962 I spent three years in Africa (as part of my work as a research engineer with General Motors) driving a QL Bedford (the predecessor of the R-type) twice the length and breadth of that continent. This included two Saharan crossings (each of which was about 5000 km). In three years and about 150,000 km (apart from burnt valves) that truck did not a foot wrong. Nothing broke, nothing fell off: we used only two sets of (1200 X 20) tyres - and I still look back with nostalgia at the 104:1 low range first gear. It was at least as good a truck as the OKA and, given only a bigger (and diesel) engine, plus better brakes - I would buy one today.

The above is true of 1930-1950s big 4 X 4 and 4 X 6 Scammels, Leylands, AECs, etc and also any number of big US-built off-road trucks.. The chassis design and build quality of the astonishing 1934 8X8 AEC (now in the vehicle museum in Alice Springs) is up to date even today - not least because of also having eight-wheel steering.

But getting back to the main theme - I'd like to see the serious 4WD vehicle industry accept, as does the aircraft industry, that things can and do fail, and to build in a either a 'limp home mode'; or as in aircraft practice, to have inbuilt redundancy so that critical-mission compenents are duplicated and even triplicated. That's why I trust electronics in aircraft - but not really in road vehicles.

I totally accept that none of the above is necessary for most road-going vehicles - or the 'soft' 4WDs - but a lot of people world-wide still live and work in territory like the Kimberley and we NEED vehicles like the Troopy and HiLux. (Do not be offended that I have not mentioned Nissan Patrol - it's simply there's no main Nissan dealer or dealer-service on the western side).

One partial solution is to do as I've done for the past few years: (a) to always carry a satphone, and (b) to have the 4WD outback recovery insurance (including for bogged vehicles) provided by Worldcare Assist (about $215/year - and they'll even pull you off the Canning Stock Route!).
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 82517

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:39

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:39

Do you have any contact details for Worldcare Assist?? That's a great price, I'd like to read the fine print, have you had the need to use them?
FollowupID: 341589

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:24

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:24
Last time I looked at Worldcare assist they had changed their name to Mondial Assistance and no longer offer remote recovery.
FollowupID: 341605

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:27

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 17:27
Thanks Mad Dog. I thought for that price it'd be a bargin to have just in case.
FollowupID: 341606

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:51

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:51
I don't know what bit's you thinking about, but I've never needed to "reprogram" any component for any vehicles, "specialised computer equipment"??? My toyota service manual for the 1kz-te Surf/Prado TD motor says if you don't have diganistic tools, use a paperclip to short out the wire and it will blink the lights on the dash to tell you what's wrong.

OK so in the past you've taken a spare fuel filter and belts. Now add to the list a copy of the service manual and a paperclip...
AnswerID: 82534

Reply By: Member - Meggs - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 13:39

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 13:39
It seems as if there is nothing we can do about it as I don't believe there is any new petrol engine vehicle on the australian market that is not now computer controlled. The diesels are going the same way with at least 50% being computer controlled and the rest aren't too far behind. It would be impossible for the smaller engine diesels eg 3l Nissans (I use Nissan as they are the heaviest 4 x4 with 3l engine) to get the economy and power they are getting without a computer controlled fuel management system.
You could get around this by rebuilding the old vehicles but this ends up becoming uneconomical.
One of the things I would like would be the ability to interrogate the data loggeres that these fuel management systems have but this would be an impossible dream as the manufacturers would protect that but I live in hope that some virus writer would channel their energies in that direction.
AnswerID: 82540

Follow Up By: Moz - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 18:48

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 18:48
You can already interogate the ECU if you willing to pay for it.
Each manufacturer have their own scan tools but you can buy
aftermarket generic scan tools with software for most of the
popular models on the road.
However they cost a few thousand dollars and are sold within the
automotive industry.
They provide basic engine and trans data and Trouble Codes, so they
are used mainly for diagnosis.

Moz
FollowupID: 341620

Reply By: Phil G - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 18:48

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 18:48
I've had the same sentiments regarding electronics.

But from my observations:
- Majority of electronic problems eminate from aftermarket installations and additions.
- Toyota have a great track record for reliable electronics on their motors.

So I have lost my concern for taking my EFI diesel Prado off the beaten track.

My only concern is the factory immobiliser - would love to have it disabled. I'm paranoid that a transponder key may fail, so always carry a spare with the vehicle.

Phil G
AnswerID: 82583

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:38

Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 19:38
Austravel

Certainly the service is now via Mondial - and there is a discrepancy between what is on their just-ckecked website, and what is on my only just renewed policy. The service still includes debogging but is now restricted to gazetted all-weather roads and tracks.

We needed to use the service about five years ago when the OKA spat a roll pin in to the guts of the gearbox - leaving us half way up the Old Telegraph Track with a box full of neutrals. Amazing service - they sent a mechanic the 250 km up from Weipa who recovered 2nd and 4th but no reverse - and with that we got it back to Weipa for repair.

I'll check with them tomorrow.The number is 07 3360 0300

Happy to hear that it's possible fix a Toyota computer system with a paper clip but have a nasty feeling one might need also the Book of Common Prayer, plus an adequate supply of good scotch.

Re the failed vehicles at Seisa - this was just beginning to happen in 2000 - even then there were two 4WDs with failed electrics awaiting the barge back down south.

Collyn
FollowupID: 341626

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 07:03

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 07:03
Collyn,
thanks for starting an interesting thread.
My initial reaction is to trust electronics ahead of moving parts. (The only caveat I would add is that the electronics doesn't run a Gatesean OS.) After all, lunar excursion modules don't have carburettors!
In my 4WD experience I have never had an electronic failure leading to a break down: Pajero 100,000 Pajero2 100,000 Lexus 200,000 (still going) Landrover 90,000 LR2 30,000(still going). I had one cranking battery fail due to internal breakage and the cruise control in one Pajero shook loose.
Of all the electronic gear that I travel with (Cameras, Computers, GPS, Music, Satphone, HF, UHF etc) the only thing to fail was an antenna tuner and that was because a soldered coil mount failed mechanically.
I remember the days of ignition coils and distributors very well - I spent a lot of time repairing them.
AnswerID: 82685

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 12:57

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 12:57
Jeff M

This situation is not remotely a parallel with today's kids having a natural affinity. That affinity is with the software - the programming. It is not how microprocessors work - kids are good at fixing computer software problems - but rarely if ever the hardware. But then hardly anyone is because the usual process is identify the crook board/s replace and re-progam. Like, increasingly, with cars except that cars are more complex.

But with cars, it's the hardware not the software that goes wrong. If that hardwear fails, a kid has as much chance of fixing it as a 90-year old plumber. In fact I'd probably back the plumber - at least he'll know that a good hit with a hammer may fix a crook connector.

As with Mike Harding I have a long history of designing and building very complex electronic equipment - including early computers. I also started and ran a chain of electronics magazines worldwide.

In earlier days electronic stuff used to be relatively easy to fix. Then it was not unlike vehicle engineering: separate bits did separate things and by identifying a crook one it was easy to solder in another.

These days have gone. Nowadays things are so complex that it is customary to replace a complete system - or at least major sub-system.

Re the relative reliability of space craft. Their design confirms rather than negates my concern. It is absolutely true that even the most modest laptop has far more processing power than even recent manned space craft. Why? Because the latter deliberately use basic and totally tried and tested electronic technology. This has not remotely the performance of later stuff but it's more readily fixable.

The Apollo series used discretes transistor (electronics types call it 'TTL') at a time when microprocessors were begining to be used even in dishwashers. On the day Man first landed on the Moon I was working for Natronics (in Kingsgrove, NSW) I was looking at using microprocessors in taximeters. And a year later did.

Why did NASA choose to use TTL logic? Because it could be (and was) readily fixable in the field. To some extent that's what saved Apollo 13.

Unmanned craft use super-sophisticated technology - because whilst a loss is a major issue - no one is killed as a result. And, the results show this. Many are lost.

Ask yourself why, if electronics is so reliable and effective, why is it none to speak of used in the Humvee's go-making bits? It's certainly not because GM doesn't know about it - we were experimenting with printed circuit dashboards, multiplexed systems and electronic active suspension way back in 1962.

What is interesting abut this debate is that the cautious are emerging as those who have worked in this field. And those who say it's all just fine appear to have not (that doesn't make the latter wrong or their views necessarily less than valid - but it's still interesting).

What I am basically saying (I think) is that if there are bits in vehicles intended to spend their lives off-road (and I repeat, I'm not talking about the odd week or two schlepping up the OTT and back) and if those bits will incapacitate the vehicle and cannot be fixed or bypassed - then, as with aircraft, they need to be duplicated.

Many Forum members will have seen what can and does go wrong with vehicles on tag-alongs to remote parts. But to many up here, in the NT and outback SA and Qld, these tag along 'adventure' routes are routine driving. And often alone and in vehicles that rarely are serviced properly simply because the distance to and from the closest service centre can be half the recommended service interval.

It's a different scene.

I am also talking specifically and almost exclusively about Toyota Troopies, HiLuxes and 4.2 litre Nissan Patrols because, with respect, these are about the only vehicles that are KNOWN to be strong enough to withstand continuous outback working usage. The Taliban worked that out (even if their Hiluxes were petrol driven)!

Have a look at Broome outside the tourist season - there's hardly a vehicle there except Troopies and dual cab HiLuxes. My own Troopy was one or a row of 15 such (I counted them) outside the Post Office yesterday - and all with the identifying BM XXX number plates (that tourists believe let the shopkeepers know how much to charge!).
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 82718

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 14:16

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 14:16
Excellent post Collyn.

>But with cars, it's the hardware not the software that goes wrong.
>If that hardwear fails, a kid has as much chance of fixing it as a
>90-year old plumber. In fact I'd probably back the plumber at least
>he'll know that a good hit with a hammer may fix a crook connector.

I’m with you, my monies on the plumber :)

>These days have gone. Nowadays things are so complex that it is
>customary to replace a complete system - or at least major
>sub-system.

Exactly. And that is the design philosophy employed by Bosch et al. It makes no sense to have a highly trained electronics technician hanging around a motor vehicle dealers with a bucketfull of very expensive test gear for the occasions when the electronics blow up. Much more sensible to provide low tech. training to the vehicle automotive guys so that they diagnose to board level and do a board swap. Then send the board off to be repaired or thrown away.

>Re the relative reliability of space craft.

Two things: 1) as you say, life support systems will tend to use old technology because it’s tried and tested. Also because these systems take so long to design and test, by the time you’ve completed them the technology which was new when you started is now old. 2) Typically life support system will have three levels of redundancy, so if level one fails you have two backup system – not always (pacemakers may not) but many critical systems do.

>Unmanned craft use super-sophisticated technology
You should see some of the defence stuff these days! A-bloody-mazing! :)

>What is interesting abut this debate is that the cautious are emerging
>as those who have worked in this field.

Modern day electronics are astonishingly reliable, no question – BUT when they fail are usually irreparable without specialised equipment and knowledge. As someone else said “so is a conrod through the block” – quite true but the difference is I _must_ have a conrod and engine block but a remote area vehicle does not _have_ to have electronically controlled fuel injection or an O2 sensor etc. Why increase the number of critical systems? If _any one_ of them fails – you’re stuffed. This is really the nub of the thread: normally a vehicle is not a life support system but in remote regions it may be but manufacturers will _never_ want to acknowledge that for legal reasons and the fact that very few of their vehicles will fall into that category – but for those which do it’s a critical issue. And that’s why I would prefer not to have critical electronic systems in such a vehicle.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 341785

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:19

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:19
Ditto!

Well said guys...

One more thing for Jeff M, the paper clip is to bridge the ECU to output the codes through the dash. However the error codes are only for inputs (ie: sensors). you can have a component failure which is not covered by the ECU's monitoring.... Or you may get a code such as "knock sensor failure" because there is a leak in the exhaust manifold which is letting air in and the oxigen sensor reports mixture too reach so it leans it up and the knock sensor reports knocking, as a result the ECU goes into limp home mode (which as you say) provides some redundancy until you turn the engine off, once off it will not start again until cleared...
Having worked in the industry, I can give you thousands of examples, some vehicles (all brands) sometimes sit at dealerships until the problem is fixed, sometimes they wait for sensors to be delivered overnight until it is replaced and then the ECU reports another one faulty just because the problem wasn't there in the first place!!
Not to mention intermitent faults...!
William
FollowupID: 341788

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:20

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:20
Sorry that should have read "mixture too rich" not reach...
FollowupID: 341789

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:37

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:37
Collyn wrote:
I also started and ran a chain of electronics magazines worldwide.

Aah - you're THAT Collyn Rivers! The name rang a bell, that's for sure - interesting to hear what you've up to! And by the way, excellent posts - I couldn't agree more, I own what might be one of the last non-turbo 78 series Troopies delivered in Aust., got it in August 2001. I've been thinking I might keep it till it's 20years old, like my dear departed HJ60....

FollowupID: 341826

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:25

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 15:25
This is the best post i've seen on here what an excellent subject, now having said that imagine if this type of medium (ie) (internet forums) was around when we were going from pounds to the dollar or when we were going from imperial to metric do you think the discusion would have been similar the pro's and cons of which was better or more reliable i think so. I think if you could get the records of vehicle failures over a vehicles life or say a 200,000k period it would say that there would be more mechanical failures than electrical given that todays electrics are so reliable.

(eg) Our Explorer it's fully electronic only one failure ABS sensor and only because it was covered in dirt it has done 110,000k and is nearly 6years old the mechanical failures well there has been two both gearbox related, our Nissan Pintara fully electronic none in 220,000k, mechanical 3 clutches.

It comes down to how well you look after a vehicle, you check your mechanicals oil filter air filter change oil ect, ect, do you clean your electrics or check them not just your battery terminals, well do ya.

Baz, just a thought.
AnswerID: 82734

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 17:05

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 17:05
Baz

I totally agree that electrical reliability has improved beyond recognition. When for example was the last time one replaced distributor points since Hall effect transducers etc removed the need for moving parts.

But the point still remains that a lot of people up here are becoming increasingly concerned about vehicles that they simply cannot fix (even frankly WITH a paper clip) in areas where vehicle failure is not simply a matter of ringing the NRMA. And that never bothered anyone seriously until now becauseyou get pretty good at fixing stuff that's remotely fixable. That Bush Mechanics programme was for real!

Much of the Kimberley - which is where I live and of which I write - is still virtually uninhabited - there's only 30,000 people in an area bigger than France - and close to half live in or within 100 km of Broome.

Trades people routinely drive deeply into the Western desert (often pulling a heavy trailer) to truly outback Aboriginal communities over rarely-used tracks - and they may need to do that in 44 degrees C. Aborigines must do likewise in their rare visits to Broome.

The Cape Leveque Rd is still seen as an-off adventure to many - yet a local woman takes a Landcruiser up there three times a week to deliver the mail.

Almost without exception these guys use Toyota Troopies, or series 80s.
(They'd possibly use Nissan Patrols if Nissan cared enough to have a dealer and service up here). And none wants to be concerned that, if the electronics packed up in a big way, the closest service may be plus 1000 km away.

Sure an axle may break. I did just that with the rear axle of the OKA. But it was no big deal to pull what was left of the drive shaft, blank off the hub - and drive 1500 km in front wheel drive. Maybe you can still do that with a traction control set up. Maybe not. But I don't want to find out halfway down the bloody Tanami - where I was for the umpteenth timera couple of weeks back.

Perhaps it is possible to bypass some electronics by pulling a fuse - but how many have the expertise to know that? I've spent most of life with electronics in one form or another and I'm far from confident that I'd know what to do.

I agree also that a lot depends on how well you look after the vehicle - but, as I noted, some communities are so isolated that dealer servicing is not feasible - apart from which, specialised service is increasingly required.
Collyn Rivers

FollowupID: 341797

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:43

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:43
I think personally the chance of an electrical component dyng or blowing up to the extent some of these people are going on about is about as slim as snapping a regularly maintined timming belt or blowing a diff etc. Some things are just not going to be repairable when you are in the middle of noware.
Personally, I'd rather have an electrical/electronic problem rather than bent valves and damaged cylinder heads, I know which one I'd "personally" have more of a chance of fixing with a some wire, a multimeter and the engine manual.
My 2 cents, and yeah I've copped some flack on this post, but whatever it's all personal opinion, I know I've got an electronically controlled turbo diesel vehicle that will be comming on to 10 years old soon that the only problem I've had with it is the one I've got now and that's some kind of mechanical knock from the front suspension. And If you think the vehicle doesn't get worked hard, take a look at some of my photo's.
my 2c. :-P
AnswerID: 82755

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:55

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 20:55
Hey Collyn,

Seems you really opened a can of worms. In general I agree with what you are saying about things we don't understand and are difficult to check. Whilst I accept that electronics are the main worry for people these days I would just like to relate to things that happened to me, just to show that old vehicles can suffer form crippling problems too.

On my first ever big trip I had to modify my plans, rain forced the closure of all the roads in NW NSW and I ended up in Broken Hill despite planning not to got there. As I was driving out of BH 3 days later I felt the clutch slip. Quick U turn found a mechanic and got it fixed. No big deal but without the rain I would have been at Innamincka. The prob was the rear main oil seal had failed and filled the clutch with oil. None had dropped on the ground or got out of the bell housing. Whilst I am capable of fixing all these problems the thought of doing it on the sandy banks of Cooper Creek is not in the least pleasant.

The second incident was on Cape York. Just turned down towards Heathlands Ranger Station from the DCS Road. The car just stopped. I swear someone reached in the window and turned the key. I got out the complete factory service manual and started looking for what might cause the prob. My mate, an engineer and skilled bush mech also read the manual to no avail. Flagged down another guy who we had travelled with for a few days, he was a mech although not in the industry at the time, no joy. Drove to ranger station rang mechanic for daignosis. Fuel shut off solenoid he said. We had somewhere to look but it tested OK ie there was power to the terminal on the solenoid. Finally a couple of diesel mechanics on hols from Denmark stopped. The problem was the shut off solenoid, it was fixed by removing the piston so I then could not stop the vehicle. That was realtively easy to live with. Because we did not have a 24mm open ended spanner cut down to a length of about 5cm we had to remove the top of the fuel pump and the tap the solenoid around with a hammer and chissel to get it off.

The vehicle was a 1989 4.2l Diesel GQ Patrol. Now i expect we'll get the should-a-had-a-toyota replies but put that aside and most intelligent people would acknowledge that the GQ has a pretty good rep for reliability.

Without the timely intervention of God (he sent the rain that forced me into Broken Hill) and a couple of passing travellers in both instances I was looking at expensive recovery and repair bills. The clutch job cost nearly $2000 anyway who knows what it would have cost to get the parts to Innamincka. My point is that every time we go into remote areas we take, and I hope accept, that kind of risk, no matter what we drive. For me that is part of the adventure. If there was no adventure I might as well stay at home and watch it all on "The World Around Us" download pictures from the internet and insert myself using photoshop.

Besides I met some really nice people by breaking down.

Just my thoughts, for what they're worth
AnswerID: 82778

Reply By: Bundyman - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 10:02

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 10:02
G'Day Collyn,

Mate just my 2 cents worth. I work in the mining industry and most U/G equipment now has more electronics than the average 4x4 and the conditions they work in are probably worse than 99% of 4x4 owners will be in. Now the contractor I work for uses Denso tape to cover EVERY electrical conection or join to keep out the dust/water/mud etc and this works well because most failures are the ingression of the above. We still get failures but not to the same degree that other places that I've worked at that don't wrap everything in Denso tape get. So I personally cover all my connections with the tape on my HZJ75 and have never had a problem - not that its got any electronics in it. Thats the reason why I like simple engines like the 1HZ or the old Perkins that I'd say you have in the OKA (which will be my retirement vehicle). looks like you have a great set up on the OKA.

Hughesy
AnswerID: 82860

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:09

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:09
Bundyman

Thank you (and others for comments).

I still feel Michael hit the nail on the head concerning the use of electronics where other more throughly proven technology will do an equally good job.

There also needs to be understood that by 'electronic' I am not referring to electrics generally. There are electric motors still in use today that were designed and built by Royce (the engineer in Rolls/Royce) over 100 year ago, and I have yet to have a warranty claim (I gave a liftime warranty) on an electric seive shaker I last made in 1978. Electronics simply does not yet have that sort of record

I'm a bit unusual in that I have worked virtually equally with mechanical as well as electronic systems - but still trust mechanical things far more - mostly because the technologies are simpler and there is a far longer tradition of knowledge and usage.

Do consider that whilst aircraft duplicate or triplicate all electronic bits and pieces, they do not do so with mechanical bits (excepting engines) - there's only one pair of wings, one rudder, one set of landing gear etc ...

Motor cars, and trucks in particular) start off with an original design, but it is more development of that design that goes to produce a reliable end product (in fact Rolls-Royce cars were often regarded as "a triumph of workmanship over design")

I'd also like to reiterate that the concern about reliability up here may not be logical. All I'm saying is nevertheless it well and truly exists, seems to be increasing, and is held also by every auto mechanic that I know.

ToyMotor
Yes - am that Collyn. Big change from the magazine days in Sydney! I parted company with that life over 22 years ago but it's amazing how many people still remember those magazines and that era. Even Dicky still keeps in touch.
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 83001

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 00:58

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 00:58
I dont want to get too depressed here as I havent yet bought my LC100. Can we have an idea of how many vehicles HAVE survived, instead of the handfull, that, for one reason or another broke down.
For mine the glass is always half full and the fact is, that electronics in vehicles will not go away.
How about some good news?

AnswerID: 85649

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:25

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:25
We're just telling it as we see it. Sorry if that isn't what you want to hear.

Of course most don't break down - I see them every day, driving around town.

A positive attitude to life is good - but one should not be oblivious to the negatives simply because they are unpalatable.

FollowupID: 344167

Reply By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 10:05
Hi Collyn

This issue is not one of failure – all things can fail, that is why modern commercial aircraft have up to three systems in case one becomes redundant.

The question is what is the statistical likelihood of failure, versus the number total hours used, and what impact will a failure have?

The fact is that a large percentage of four-wheel drives sold in Australia are used exactly the way you have described – one or two large trips per annum. The chances of failure are there, but for a manufacturer the cost versus benefit equation is always at the forefront of development. That is what keeps vehicles affordable and consumers buying them.

If manufacturers were to start building vehicles with back-up redundancy systems the cost would be unacceptable to most. Sure, a breakdown in the middle of nowhere is a great inconvenience which could, for the under prepared, lead to life threatening situations. However, the statistical probability, versus the number of vehicles and kilometres travelled does not warrant back-up systems.

I understand you’re issue, but your requirement probably doesn’t fit the general, broad use category that the manufacturers are targeting. That doesn’t mean I am not sympathetic to your plight, I am, however you need to be realistic about the issue.

A key element you raise is that many vehicles in remote areas are not serviced properly due to distances to service centres. Clearly, vehicles should be serviced in the way manufacturers intended. Again I understand your issue – but regular services may detect the onset of a potential problem. I’m not sure how you get around the issue, as it becomes one of making it attractive and economical for services centres to establish themselves in remote areas – an old chestnut that is best left for debate elsewhere.

The key thing is, what price are you prepared to pay, for the vehicle you are asking for?

Would you be prepared to pay an extra $15,000-$20,000 for a Toyota Troopy for the peace of mind that if one system fails, it will automatically back itself up, or at that cost, are you more willing to take the risk?

Interesting thread

AnswerID: 85675

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:35

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:35
Landie
I think the answer to the question of whether people would be prepared to pay a substantial premium for ultra-reliability is - probably yes.

The Troopy is an extraordinarily costly vehicle already - bearing in mind that it has very little in conventional creature comforts (air conditioning is an optional extra) yet the base model is almost $2000 more than the base Series 100.

Yet despite the cost the Troopy (and dual cab HiLux) are almost standard transport in the Kimberley. Outside the tourist season they are about all you see. So far Toyota has resisted using any electronics in the non-turbo model. I'd like to it stay that way.

Re camels. A woman friend of mine, together with a local Aboriginal man walked a big mob of them overland from Alice Springs to Broome - some are still carrying tourists on Cable Beach. She says that at least you if anything goes seriously wrong you can always eat the buggers - and adds "try that with a Land Rover."
Collyn Rivers

FollowupID: 344443

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 21:53

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 21:53
Hi Collyn

And probably a sensible choice, the camels, the Landie would be much tougher and likely to induce indigestion.

Landie
FollowupID: 344524

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:10

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:10
Wanted....1 big camel in good nic..oh better get a trailer too!

AnswerID: 85775

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 15:27

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 15:27
My 1c worth , 80 series manual window. Window goes up window goes down, my arms not sore.
skinny
AnswerID: 86405

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:47

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:47
skinny

Mm - but stuffed window winder would not immobilise! It's unneccessary electrics that can that bother me.

Latest New Scientist tells of a new VW that came up with a weird error message. The only way to get the bugger going again was for a serviceman with a portable computer to reprogram the thing.

And the fault was the computer/electronic between the accelerator pedal and the engine prevented the engine running at all!

This is just plain stupid.
Collyn
FollowupID: 345043

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:51

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:51
Dead Right, my message was meant to read I love manual window winder as I have had an electric motor go in a car and had a bugger of a time getting the car locked again so I could take it for repair.
But then agian I grew up fixing my FC holden with a hammer and screwdriver. Cheers
Skinny
AnswerID: 86420